on the screen

On the Screen

View All

classics

AUDIO & eBOOK CLASSICS

View All


classics

Helping those in need

Visit Site

MP3 Audio Sample

rating
 
 
goodreads logo

Short Synopsis
Crooked Brooklyn is an unbelievable and unforgettable story that will appeal to fans of Law & Order, readers of true crime, and those hungry for details about the system that keeps us safe.

Full Synopsis
From 2001 to 2013, Michael Vecchione was chief of the Rackets Division in the Brooklyn District Attorney's Office, which was the largest urban prosecution agency in the country. Vecchione grappled with organized crime and dirty politicians, during which he supervised, investigated, and prosecuted major felony cases.

Crooked Brooklyn is a gritty story of corruption, greed, and law enforcement. Vecchione navigated a political minefield and expertly rose to the judicial challenges of directing investigations into a wide variety of crimes, from bribe-taking judges to cold-blooded killers. He was responsible for taking down three state Supreme Court judges, one of the most powerful political bosses in the country, two cops who worked as assassins for the Mafia, and a corrupt oral surgeon who was secretly selling bones from the recently deceased to medical supply companies.

Unbelievable and unforgettable, Crooked Brooklyn is a story that will appeal to fans of Law & Order, readers of true crime, and those hungry for details about the system that keeps us safe.

"A gritty real life view from the front lines." ---Nicholas Pileggi, author of Wiseguy: Life in a Mafia Family

"Crooked Brooklyn is a fascinating, chilling and sometimes hilarious look at what it's like to be a real-life, big city prosecutor." ---Terence Winter, Creator & Executive Producer, Boardwalk Empire

"An up close and personal story of fighting corrupt public officials and mobsters and hitting them where it hurts." ---Ret. Captain Tom Walker, author of Fort Apache

Crooked Brooklyn

Taking Down Corrupt Judges, Dirty Politicians, Killers, and Body Snatchers

Author Michael Vecchione, Jerry Schmetterer

Narrated by Joe Barrett

Publication date Nov 17, 2015

Running time 7 hrs

Available Formats

Suggestions?
Let us know!