EXCLUSIVE OFFERS

6.99 bargain bin

on the screen

On the Screen

View All

classics

AUDIO & eBOOK CLASSICS

View All

MP3 Audio Sample

Short Synopsis
In Justinian's Flea, William Rosen tells the story of history's first pandemic—a plague seven centuries before the Black Death that killed tens of millions, devastated the empires of Persia and Rome, left a path of victims from Ireland to Iraq, and opened the way for the armies of Islam.

Full Synopsis
The Emperor Justinian reunified Rome's fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. At his capital in Constantinople, he built the world's most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome's fortunes for the next 500 years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed 5,000 people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself.

Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, William Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly's The Great Mortality, John Barry's The Great Influenza, and Jared Diamond's Collapse.

Kirkus Review

Justinian's Flea

Plague, Empire, and the Birth of Europe

Author William Rosen

Narrated by Barrett Whitener

Publication date May 28, 2007

Running time 12 hrs

Available Formats

Add to Cart Add to Wishlist

audio cd

List Price

$37.99

Your Price

$30.39

Add to Cart Add to Wishlist

mp3-cd

List Price

$24.99

Your Price

$12.50

Add to Cart Add to Wishlist

audio download

List Price

$20.49

Your Price

$16.39

Suggestions?
Let us know!