on the screen

On the Screen

View All

classics

AUDIO & eBOOK CLASSICS

View All


classics

Helping those in need

Visit Site

MP3 Audio Sample

rating
 
 
goodreads logo

Short Synopsis
Action, horror, politics, and sensuality combine in this debut epic fantasy novel set in the world of the Eisner Award-nominsted Artesia comic books.

Full Synopsis
When a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place.

Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross-section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, united by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books or get them all killed.

"Genuinely inspired, shockingly erotic, and completely fantastic." ---John R. Fultz, author of Seven Sorcerers

"A gritty fantasy adventure set in a vivid and complex world. Fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch will love The Barrow." ---Mike Lee, author of Fallen Angels

"Narrator Michael Page is well suited for the large cast of characters, giving each cunning, profane, dignified, or grim player an individual vocal style." ---Library Journal Audio Review

The Barrow

Author Mark Smylie

Narrated by Michael Page

Publication date Jun 25, 2014

Running time 21 hrs 9 min

Available Formats

audio download

Suggestions?
Let us know!