on the screen

On the Screen

View All

classics

AUDIO & eBOOK CLASSICS

View All


classics

Helping those in need

Visit Site

MP3 Audio Sample

rating
 
 
goodreads logo

Short Synopsis
In a world where an anti-aging cure is available worldwide, immortality comes with its own unique problems.

Full Synopsis
John Farrell is about to get "The Cure."

Old age can never kill him now.

The only problem is, everything else still can . . .

Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and—after much political and moral debate—made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems—including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors. Witty, eerie, and full of humanity, The Postmortal is an unforgettable thriller that envisions a pre-apocalyptic world so real that it is completely terrifying.

"A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman" ---Library Journal

"Magary's relaxed, conversational style . . . and pragmatic assessment of the warty idiocy that is the most likely outcome of humanity figuring out how to immortalize itself make the premise remarkably easy to swallow." ---Booklist

"As entertaining as it is ambitious . . . Magary possesses an explosive imagination, and lets loose in The Postmortal, he creates an alternate history of the near future that feels real and is probably inevitable." ---Evan Wright, author of Generation Kill

"Magary's haunting first novel imagines a postmodern dystopia that would seem far-fetched if it didn't seem so possible. The Postmortal will make you regret ever wondering, even secretly, what it would be like to live forever." ---Stefan Fatsis, author of A Few Seconds of Panic

The Postmortal

A Novel

Author Drew Magary

Narrated by Johnny Heller

Publication date Dec 5, 2011

Running time 11 hrs

Available Formats

Suggestions?
Let us know!