on the screen

On the Screen

View All

classics

AUDIO & eBOOK CLASSICS

View All


classics

Helping those in need

Visit Site

MP3 Audio Sample

rating
 
 
goodreads logo

Short Synopsis
Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France's most "well-beloved" monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed.

Full Synopsis
Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters—Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne—four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot—and women—forward. The King's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, the four sisters—sweet, naïve Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

"Elizabeth Wiley offers a fine performance of this intriguing novel…" ---AudioFile

"Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy." ---Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress

"A stunning breadth of period detail, offered in a fresh, contemporary voice." ---Juliet Grey, author of the Marie Antoinette trilogy

"The narration is well done, beautiful even, with Elizabeth Wiley providing distinct and appropriate character voices." ---Fangs, Wands & Fairy Dust

"Narrator Elizabeth Wiley brings the [characters] to life." ---Library Journal Audio Review

The Sisters of Versailles

A Novel


Author Sally Christie

Narrated by Elizabeth Wiley

Publication date Sep 1, 2015

Running time 15 hrs 15 min

Available Formats

Suggestions?
Let us know!