on the screen

On the Screen

View All

classics

AUDIO & eBOOK CLASSICS

View All


classics

Helping those in need

Visit Site

MP3 Audio Sample

rating
 
 
goodreads logo

Short Synopsis
A woman struggles to find herself and come to terms with the truth in this funny, heartfelt novel from Sally Koslow.

Full Synopsis
Georgia Waltz has things many people only dream of: a plush Manhattan apartment overlooking Central Park, a Hamptons beach house, valuable jewels and art, two bright daughters, and a husband she adores, even after decades of marriage. It's only when Ben suddenly drops dead from a massive coronary while training for the New York City Marathon that Georgia discovers her husband—a successful lawyer—has left them nearly penniless. Their wonderland was built on lies.

As the family attorney scours emptied bank accounts, Georgia must not only look for a way to support her family, she needs to face the revelation that Ben was not the perfect husband he appeared to be, just as her daughters—now ensconced back at home with secrets of their own—have to accept that they may not be returning to their lives in Paris and at Stanford subsidized by the Bank of Mom and Dad. As she uncovers hidden resilience, Georgia's sudden midlife shift forces her to consider who she is and what she truly values. That Georgia may also find new love in the land of Spanx and stretch marks surprises everyone—most of all, her.

Sally Koslow's fourth novel is deftly told through the alternating viewpoints of her remarkable female protagonists as they plumb for the grit required to reinvent their lives. Inspiring, funny, and deeply satisfying, The Widow Waltz explores in a profound way the bonds between mothers and daughters, belligerent siblings, skittish lovers, and bitter rivals as they discover the power of forgiveness, and healing, all while asking, "What is family, really?"

"Koslow's fourth novel . . . is well-written, page-turning domestic fiction about a family's reinvention and healing that will attract fans of Elizabeth Berg." ---Library Journal

"This heartfelt, witty addition to women's fiction will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anna Quindlen." ---Booklist

"Sally Koslow delivers another winner, a smart and hopeful story of a mother and daughters growing up and starting over---together." ---Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters

The Widow Waltz

Author Sally Koslow

Narrated by Meredith Mitchell

Publication date Dec 10, 2013

Running time 10 hrs

Available Formats

Suggestions?
Let us know!